Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

NO LONGER NEEDED THANKS 354 column change gearbox ? HELP !

Jeepman 1943

Enthusiast
Further to my earlier post regarding an engine swap for my 1985 French F4, as some of you may know I sourced a NOS engine BUT it rotates the opposite way (anticlockwise) to my 850 one. I do not want 4 reverse and 1 forward gear but am reluctant to give up on the new engine. Can I get a gearbox to fit my van that runs anticlockwise ? More importantly does anyone have one for sale ? Total novice regarding R4's so advice gratefully accepted.

I have one for a transport R4 F4 or F6 that fits to a Cleon engine. But you will not be finished with just the gearbox. If you are lucky you won't have to change the hood. Cutting away the support struts will only weaken your hood. You'll need another radiator with the connecting hoses for a Cleon engine, two new engine mounts and another top traverse that goes over the engine to make the gearstick align.

Ill be happy to send over. But maybe look in the UK first.

I have one for a transport R4 F4 or F6 that fits to a Cleon engine. But you will not be finished with just the gearbox. If you are lucky you won't have to change the hood. Cutting away the support struts will only weaken your hood. You'll need another radiator with the connecting hoses for a Cleon engine, two new engine mounts and another top traverse that goes over the engine to make the gearstick align.

Ill be happy to send over. But maybe look in the UK first.
Thank you, but I think I will have to give up with the engine I bought and count my losses. It is time me and Renault 4's parted company. Thank you once again.