Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Foolishly trying to drive 300 miles after car has been largely unused for a year !

charlesa

Enthusiast
Good afternoon all,
my 1985 Renault 4GTL has been largely unused for a year as I have been moving house from Hampshire to Cumbria but have had to stay in various cottages round the country whilst waiting to complete the new purchase.
Anyway, yesterday was the day to get my GTL up from south to North (300 miles).
I am no mechanic but had checked the quality and levels of all fluids as well as (I thought) checking the tensions of the 2 belts.
Apologies for lack of correct terminology but the lower of the 2 has a habit of making a screeching sound.
Anyway, I set off and drove nearly 200 miles without incident apart from intermittent squealing. I stopped to refuel and as there was an AA van at the Services and I have been a member since 1986, I asked for him to take a look. He thought that the lower belt should be a bit tighter so he tightened it.
On I drove and about 10 miles further on there was a noise from the engine way. This was 2 miles south of Knutsford Services, which is a "Smart" stretch of motorway with no hard shoulder. I carried on to the next emergency lay-by (about a mile) and stopped. The lower of the 2 belts had snapped.
I called the AA who finally arrived after 2 1/2 hours. The AA man fitted a new belt which I provided. We then tested everything but know the overheating light came on as soon as the engine was started.
Anyway, at this point I had been in a small lay-by at the side of the M6 in 30 degree heat for more than 4 hours. The AA man said that it was too dangerous to stay there and that he would follow me if I drove the 2 miles to Knutsford Services and under no circumstances was I to stop !