Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Just at the right time!

renault4ever

Enthusiast
I am so pleased to have discovered this forum, people that can understand the same language!
My wife and I have had 4's for a number of years and she is well known in the local area by her 'little red car' I have been restoring them for about 5 years on and off as time allowed, but I am retiring next month so I intend to get started on the six we have in the garden! I have already found the forum useful and I hope I will be able to contribute as well later.

Great find! Keep it going!

Hi Chris, thanks for joining the forum. I had noticed that Renault 4 numbers were declining - seems you've got them all.

Do you have any odd or unusual Renault 4s in your collection? I'm a fan of the 1960s and 70s style of car, but these are becoming a quite rare. (Having said that, a friend's grandmother has a 3 speed low mileage R4 tucked away in a barn in France so I might get my chance.)

Looking forward to hearing about your projects.

The rarest one I have is a '69 850 in light blue which is going to be the first project, but it does need the o/s/r chassis mount repairing. I could really do with the details of the jig you used!!
That's the bigest job it needs, the rest is in very good condition.The remaining cars are all newer, but I did miss an original pick up some years ago, that I had to turn down because I didn't have the room for it. I've been kicking myself ever since! :evil:
I won't make that mistake again!

CJ

Oops - I missed this one. The chassis jig was made using dimensions from the factory workshop manual. If you don't have a copy I can copy the relevant pages to you.

I missed out on buying a 1972 car the other day. You don't happen to have any with the bench seat that you'd part with do you?