Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Just Registered........ Hello

AndrewPole

Hello All,
I have registered today because I know nothing about Renault 4s BUT my wife would love to have one. We currently have a four year old Mistubishi (to be honest neither of us like new cars!!) which she would sell and replace it with a Renault 4.
I would be gratefull for any opinions as this would be a daily used car.
How much would we have to pay for a good one?
Is there anywhere near us (Cardiff) that could service the car?

I'm basically asking if it would be a foolish move to have a Renault 4 as a daily runner.

thanks all in advance :)

Welcome to the forum Andrew,

I've been using Renault 4s as daily runners for the last 13 years. I'm not a fan of modern cars either, but most of all I like the low cost motoring that the little Renaults deliver.

They aren't really ideal for long distance motorway trips, but for bumbling around they are perfectly OK.

Mechanically there is little to go wrong. There is no performance and hence no strain on any of the mechanical bits. It's the chassis that tends to cause problems - particularly rust around the rear suspension mountings which is expensive to fix.

With that in mind it's worth waiting until a really good one turns up. The really good ones don't necessarily have to be expensive - cost depends on how shiney the car is.

thanks for the reply Clementine :)

Having bought a 'good' one, could I pop along to my local garage if 'she' started playing up ??
Is regular servicing easy to do or get done ??

thanks again.............

Hoping someone else can answer this one as I do my own servicing.

The R4 isn't exactly complicated, so any local garage should be able to do the work. I've heard some garages get a little stuffy about servicing cars that they can't plug their Bosch diagnistics into.