Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Need ideas for Research project

Bluebell

Enthusiast
I'm studying French at Leeds Metropolitan Uni and I need ideas for a research project. It's sort of to do with R4s. I'm comparing the French and English, in whatever way, socially, politically or economically. For example I want to show that the cars that were popular in each country denoted a different lifestyle; a Frenchman needed a Renault 4 for the country life while an Englishman might have chosen a Mini for the city. Also the importance of the last two number plate numbers for the French showing strong regional loyalties. The difficulty of French registration laws showing obsession with order. Etc, etc.

Could you put on your thinking caps and let me know anything that comes to mind and any info regarding the French and English differences that can be illustrated by reference to French motoring and maybe involving the R4. Also any nice pics for illustration. Thanks guys.
:yellowre:

Ideas please!

:yellowre:

C'mon folks. At least could you tell me why people like having old French cars like R4s. What does it show you about the chap (or chapesse) that runs one?

Also why are French car adverts so typically French (Papa et Nichole). Do we drive French cars to appear a bit French and what are these bits of Frenchness that appeal to us?