Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

New carburetor

Alfonso

Enthusiast
Hi there!

I got a Renault 4tl (1985) with 200,000km on the clock in Morocco and I am now in the process of preparing it for daily use (or even a possible go at 4l trophy since I'm still a student hehe). The main reason why I bought it was to learn some mechanics since I knew close to nothing (and I still do :)). The thing is it has been messed about with and fixed in rather ingenious but cheap ways which I am now trying to amend. The car was running smoothly (I did a 2500km trip and it went well) but at some point it started stalling when cold increasingly often (and it's not even that cold here in Malaga) and even when warming it up for around 10 minutes it would still not run so well. Since there is no fuel filter yet, I figured that I should perhaps check the carburetor (clean it, replace gaskets) and see if the problem is solved. I had to take out the carburetor anyway to fix an air leak in the manifold and, since the Haynes manual says it should be cleaned every 20,000km, I thought it wouldn't be such a bad idea to take a look into it. After some confusion, it turns out that it has a Solex 32 seia, which would belong to R5, 6 and 7. I took the carburetor to the local mechanic to find out why two bottom holes and pipes that did not appear on the manual (which I didn't know the function of) were completely clogged and his hypothesis was that they were purposedly blocked (which makes sense after finding out it doesn't belong in this car). All in all, my intentions now are to replace it with a proper R4 carburetor. The most common one seems to be the Zenith 28IF, but I am not completely sure if it will fit in my car (I have read that some carburetors don't fit in all versions). I have checked the plate numbers but I can't manage to understand them. Here you can see the three plates I found (oval, diamond -which in R4s manufactured in Spain I presume are rec