Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Renualt 5 Campus

The Purchaser

Hello Everyone!

I am considering buying a 1995 Renault 5 campus 1.1 3dr and not only is this my first time buying a renault, it is my first time buying any car at the tender age of 20. The car i have my eyes on is being sold private so i was just wondering if there are anythings i should look for in particular when going to view the car. Any well known faults with the campus at all? Also, the asking price is 600, is this good or bad? or even about right?

Any advice would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Just a quick hi and welcome to the forum. I'm not familiar with the later R5 campus, although my mother ran a 1987 Campus for a few years and loved it.

In her case everything wore out one year, so she sold the car. With an old and cheapish car it's well worth checking the condition of the tyres, battery, exhaust, radiator, alternator, and brake discs. They are all parts that wear out after 10 years, and their combined replacement costs would be more than the car. If these are all newish on the car you are looking at then it's probably a good buy.

I've no idea if the newer R5s had rust problems, but the old ones used to rot at the back of the sill. It's worth checking out that area just in case.

Otherwise I'd be inclined to go on how well the car has been looked after - if the paint and interior are in good condition, and if it has lots of nice new parts.

Maybe someone else can be more specific.

I can't think of anything specific to the R5 (interior trim is maybe a bit flimsy), but I've got a few suggestions which might be useful if you've never bought a car before.