Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Saying hello for the first time... and a question

Tamas Kovacs

Enthusiast
Dear All,

I live in Hungary, and bought an R4 in 2010. Actually I have been stalking this forum since 2012. Running through the topics always helped me over the years. Thank you! I didnt have to ask anything, but... I did a lot of research on the r4s with dashboard mounted handbrake, and mine seems interesting. So, according to its papers it was manufactured in 1982, its a GTL (VIN:VF1128), with the cast iron rear swing arms, LHD of course. My car got disc breaks on the front, but here comes the thing I couldnt find any info about. So I have no handbrake between the two front seats, the pull type handle is mounted under the dashbord, but to the right side of the steering wheel, and it operates on the rear drum brakes. It all seems original, the hole on the bulkhead, the mechanism, it even has a tiny switch and when I pull the handle the brake warning indicator lights up on the panel. There is a very short discussion on this forum about a similar car, but it wasn't convincing so I want to ask you directly, what car am I driving?
Thank you!
Tamas

It"s a crossover car with the disc brakes but early dash and handbrake. Quite rare now. The French built them for a short time aroud 1981. Spanish built cars used the handbrake arrangement at least to 1984. I'm not sure of the exact dates.

thank you for the fast answers!
this is the thread i was referring to : https://www.renault4.co.uk/forum/threads/chassis-parts-id-two-queries.3352/#post-18042

"It's interesting to note that the system in Spain is slightly different to the system in France. The French system uses a single cable from the
handbrake lever, and then two further cables running from the lever system to either brake drum. My Spanish F6, however has the single cable
pulling on a pulley, with a single cable running between both drums."