Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

hello all

thatcherboy

wannabe...
im new to site and technicaly shouldnt be on here without the car.. im very keen to get a renault 4 possibly a french one as soon as possible, due to the recent purchase of an old barn in mid france im going to explore the possibilities of buying french and using there and here? if anyone has any thoughts on this then i would be gratefull for any advice/ words of experience. also at the moment i am iving in folkestone kent, does anyone have a renault 4 that i could have a good nose around? i need to get up to speed on what to look for and maybe even get a ride in one? i grew up in both cyprus and spain, but it was in a tiny spanish village 20 or so years ago that i developed a "thing" for r4's that remained dormant until now! so there you have it, all i need now is the car...

Whereabout in mid France will you be? I looked on French ebay just now and there seems to be plenty of nice ones, you'll have to pick on the basis of where they live as France is a big place. I would definitely get a French registered one. No tax and CT only every two years. French insurance seems a lot cheaper too. We bought two lovely LHD ones in the UK but it's a hell of a job and an expense getting them reregistered over here.

hi, the barn is just outside a village called bessines sur gartampe, its about 30min drive north of the city of limoges. yeah i guess location is more important with france. will i need to provide any proof of address etc to buy/insure a french plated car? im hoping to use the car as a workhorse back here in the uk too. do you live in france full time or do you commute a fair bit?