Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Immobiliser on Bosch pump

armalite8

Hi all, newbie here.

I've got a Bosch pump to replace my dead Lucas one on the 1.9D 1996 Clio (Got a Bosch cos I want to run on Veg oil), but it has a black plastic box where the solenoid should be that's full of epoxy resin.

I'm guessing this is an immobiliser? If so, can I remove or bypass it and how please? It's the only Bosch pump I could find for an F8Q engine.

Many thanks.

Adam.

well i am a big diesel fan and a renault nutcase so i will answer your questions

yes that is the immobiliser bit originally bolted on at factory with shear headed bolts
not friendly designed to stop thieves hot wiring pump
firstly make sure all orofices on pump are blanked off to stop debris getting in and then using dremil /chisel/ swearing/ patience - delete as aproporiate destroy black bit eventually you will see stop valve with single wire which can be fed with 12v as original

next bit you will need bosch injectors and pipes as pressures are not compatible and pipe routes different
finally the timing marks for bosch and lucas /roto diesel are different and there are severel variants of pulley with lots of possibilities of getting timing wrong !!!!!

have previosly covered this topic in another thread about 21 diesel
http://www.renault4.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=1800

if you want to call me my phone number is on my profile

good luck paul

Thanks

Excellent, thanks.
I've checked the injectors on the car and they're 130bar, which is the spec for a Bosch according the to the Haynes manual, even though it's got a Lucas (prince of darkness) pump on it. Should they be OK?

I will need new pipes though, but I can't seem to find any at the moment, one more breakers to try today ;)