Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

R1123 801 engine issues

renoir cigar

Enthusiast
Hi I'm attempting to fix my 65 1123 801 engine. I bought it with siezed motor.
I've been feeding the bores diesel for several months, had it turn under duress with crank handle twice, took the head off, third piston/ sleeve liner rusty. I think it's just purely from inactivity and not blown as no water in oil, but first exhaust on manifold was chockers with carbon...
I am wondering if I can just whip the sump off with motor in and disconnect the piston, push the sleeve and piston out and replace with a new one? Also are MOT.12 liner clamps available/ and I will need to put new boots on driveshafts, is there a coupling retainer tool available or just make one up, measurements?

I am not doing a full resto, apart from brakes and suspension that needs renewing because it is fairly straight and original.

Cheers Steven

Have to do work now since later in year weather too hot to work on (seriously!) ha ha. groan.

You might struggle for access to clean up the liner seating face if you only remove one cylinder, but apart from that I can't think of any reason why it couldn't be done.

Worth clamping the liners down in case the engine turns a little. A flat plate bolted in place of the head on top of the remaining liners ought to do the job.

I am not aware of any special tools being available. Not sure what to do about driveshaft clamps. If you are careful the driveshafts can be removed without them.

Fair enough, I am thinking just take the motor out now as then I can have a good look at everything, I need to some more research. I noticed a post with "engine siezed" here and a chap in France loading up Coca Cola into the bores. Crazy. An old guy here told me he soaked motors in milk but that sounded straight out gonzo. Wouldn't smell much! tbc.

Thanks Steven