Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Well they have gone and done it haven't they!

This change in the law has obviously been specifically designed to discriminate against R4s - which commenced production in 1961 . . . Will be OK for some 4CVs, though.

Well if the 4 has missed out on this, how about the rolling tax-exemption starting up again, wouldn't that be nice? 30 years old would be good. Maybe it's time to start pestering our MPs.

I thought they had a golden opportunity to restart it at 40 years old and start it rolling from where is it now - but alas no luck so far :(

I had an Austin 7 when I was an apprentice engineer and I must say I do have a bit of a hankering for one again.

Sadly I imagine that this means that VIN plates for 1959 Land Rovers and Minis have just risen in value.

I did read earlier that you won't be able to tax a car (ie not retaxing) without an MOT which does mean that you couldn't just drive your barnfind straight onto the road and that there will be an optional MOT test still for pre 1960s with the suggestion that insurance companies might like to know the car is MOTd.

I expect you are right David, I dare say there will be some "enthusiasts" out there pulling a fast-one.
Have I missed something here, surely a pre 1960 vehicle won't need taxing anyway, but it's good to here that insurance companies would quite like to see some sort of proof of a vehicles road worthiness.

They do have to be taxed, its just that the tax is free. So currently you produce MOT and insurance and get a free tax disc in return. From October you would just produce insurance and the post office would hand a tax disc back to you.

Sorry David, I had a senior moment there. Ah, matron has just brought me Horlicks, thank you my dear:confused: Signed confused of Falmouth.

Soo what that means is you only have to get 1 dodgy MOT not one a year !