Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

circuit diagram and ball joints.

mmvanman

Enthusiast
I am new to renault 4s and wonder if anyone can help with the following

1. Where can I get a copy of a circuit diagram for a 1985 van.
2. Where can I get a list of which fuses do what?
3. Are upper and lower front ball joints handed?
4. On the RHS of my vehicle the rubber on both upper and lower ball joint is cracked. Both joints are original, riveted in place and do not have any wear. Is it possible to get replacement rubbers or do I need to replace the whole joint?

Somebody may be able to email you one, but if not all the diagrams are in the Haynes manual as are info on the fuses. You may need to buy one from Haynes or try to get a second-hand one off eBay. The upper ball joints are not handed but the lower ones are.

Regarding the split rubbers, I do believe that somebody does sell them - best to do a search. However, if all your ball joints are the 1985 originals then for safety's sake do consider replacing them.

If you are new to R4's then please search these forums first as many topics have already been covered.

Best of luck

I am new to renault 4s and wonder if anyone can help with the following

1. Where can I get a copy of a circuit diagram for a 1985 van.
2. Where can I get a list of which fuses do what?
3. Are upper and lower front ball joints handed?
4. On the RHS of my vehicle the rubber on both upper and lower ball joint is cracked. Both joints are original, riveted in place and do not have any wear. Is it possible to get replacement rubbers or do I need to replace the whole joint?

Welcome mmvanman!

1. I can have a look, if I can do a scan for you. But the wiring is fairly simple on the R4s. You should figure everything out when you have a closer look.

2. Maybe in the wiring diagram?

3. The lower front axle ball joints are handed, the upper are not.