Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

diy mig welding

newport nutter

Hi
I am in the proccess of fixing up my GTL and it has the usual lace curtain inner wings and un mot. able rear seatbelt mounts.
the quote I had from a welder,made me come over all funny, and I thought that if I bought a second hand mig I could do it myself.
the only thing is that I have never done any welding before and I wondered if anyone had tackled this job before and could give me an indication of how difficult a skill it is to pick-up.
many thanks
Newport Nutter.
p.s. my GTL is an "A" reg. can I do away with the rear seatbelt mounts like clementine did?.

Hi Newport Nutter,

MIG welders aren't so expensive (unless you buy them second hand. Then you'll have to replace bits and it could end up costing as much as a new one.) It's worth checking out machine mart for a new welder. It'll be 2 or 3 hundred pounds. Go for minimum 130 amps. The bigger the better. You can always turn them down, but the bigger migs tend to be better quality and are easier to work with.

MIG welding is pretty easy to pick up. Buy some sheet steel and practice a lot. You'll get the hang of it. Renault 4 steel is pretty thin. Thin metal is more tricky than thick metal. Make sure you clean up the metal you want to weld to until it's shiny. It's not so bad then.

You don't need rear seatbelt mountings unless you have rear seatbelts, so you can still pass the MOT without them. Doing the Clementine thing should be OK unless you plan to fit rear seat belts.

I find welding very satisfying - you get a great feeling when you add new, solid structure where once there was a mass of rust.