Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

fuel mileage question

billythefish

Enthusiast
The question that I am about to ask might to some seem strange or even stupid , but then again I'm not a mechanic.
For instance, if were to cover the exhaust around the engine area, manifold pipe and the box under the wing with exhaust manifold heat fibreglass to contain the heat around these areas, would this then produce better fuel consumption because the engine area had become more cooler or would it reduce the consumption.
I have always been puzzled by people saying cold air and petrol produces a better mix in the carb, also would it in another way reduce the noise level as well inside the car?
answers on a post card to the Fool on the hill.
billy
:shock:
PS. Angel I have not been able to measure the trim tabs because of the bad weather, I have not forgotten.

chris bonnington

billy
no - no - a little bit same as an intercooler works and noise wise you wudnt no in a renault 4 - ha.

Hi billy! I tried wrapping exhaust-pipe with fibreglass-bandage ie exhaust-bandage, but upon having to remove it after only a few months for some needed work, I discovered that the pipe itself was disintegrating in big chunks or flakes due to the temp inside the pipe getting Too high...
The effect exhaust-bandage gives is maintaining higher speed of exhaust fumes out of exhaust system which in theory leaves pistons to produce more power to the wheels as motor "breathes out" more easily......
On a highly tweaked and tuned motor wher you're looking for the last % of power it might work On our 4's I doubt if you would feel ANY difference at all.
Personally I will not use this bandage-stuff on a mild steel exhaust again