Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

MIG Welding Forum

malcolm

& Clementine the Cat
I've launched a mig welding forum!
http://www.mig-welding.co.uk/forum/index.php

The problem with new forums is nobody ever wants to be the first to post. If any of you guys would join up and make a couple of posts to help me start it off I would be very grateful.

In particular - anyone know anything about TIG welders or generally welding aluminium? I'm tempted to buy a TIG welder and am seeking advice.

:clementi:

I'll mention it to David over on retro ren, hes doing lots of welding these days I beleive!

Hello I'm a newbie, chris h pointed me this way, I'm following him a round :lol: , I've been doing a C&G mig welding course at night school this year as I have had welding to do and I am to tight to pay for it to be done :lol: . you can mig weld ally you need the right gas and you'll need a roll of ally wire so I would use a mig welder it is easier than tig welding and you won't need to seperate machines if you need to do sheet metal welding.

Hi David, thanks for coming along, and thanks Chris for passing on the word.

Have you had a chance to try aluminium welding with MIG? I'd heard it is possible with argon gas and ally wire as long as the surface is really clean on both sides. It would certainly be cheaper to buy some wire and a couple of argon cans from Halfords and give it a go on some scrap aluminium than it would be to buy an ac tig welder.

Also - forgive my ignorance here - mig welders must be ac rather than dc right? It's said that dc tig welders are no good for aluminium, so I'm guessing mig welders must be ac.