Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Model designation

kevinandkate

Sadly no longer an owner
Anyone know how to identify the model designation, I keep hearing about TL GTL and mine just says L and 4CV on the Carte Gris (Log book). I suppose this probably means its an L rather than TL etc but I dont know whether it being an 88 model year car makes any difference. Im assuming the 4CV bit means its the 800 cc one working on the principal that the Citroen 2CV is actually a 3CV and 603 cc therefore maybe its about 200 cc per CV!!!. You would't think I used to be a mechanic!!! many moons ago. Sorry for the apparent stupid questions.

Hello, what you need to do is look at the 'oval plate' or 'diamond plate' in the engine compartment. Look for a code like R1123 for example. There are explanations of which code matches which engine etc. on this page:

http://www.renault4.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=704

See also: http://www.renault4.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=1365&highlight=oval+plate

There should also be an engine code stamped on to the engine or a strip of metal near the oil filter:

http://www.renault4.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=1090&highlight=engine+type
http://www.renault4.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=1432&highlight=engine+type

Hope that helps?

We'd love to see a picture of this car when you get it. Does it have the plastic strips on the sides? I would think it would be a GTL if it belonged to M. le Maire. Or does it say Clan or Savanne?

Models

Hi all