Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

My R4 Story

ilocke

Enthusiast
Hi, I'm Ian, just registered as a user, I have been driving Renault 4s for over 20 Years, at present i have a 4F6 1108cc Van that i bought in 1987 for £2700, with 3000 miles on the clock, many years have passed and she is still used daily and has just passed her MOT today. She has covered an amazing 180,003 miles exactly (same engine/Gearbox with no repairs to either!).
I also had a 4GTL on an A plate, but alas a drunk driver finished that off whilst it was parked, he knocked it 153 feet down my road one night.
I have a Meganne 16v, with all the extras, but i choose to take the 4F6 most of the time as i just love them.
The van is starting to show her age now, and has had quite a lot of welding in previous 3 years(chasis) , but passed test today with none required this year. eventually if i can get some help i would really love to restore her like clementine did with ermintrude, hint hint clementine!!.
She is still used daily for my work as a gardener.
I have always done all the maintenance myself as i used to be a qualified mechanic/auto electrician, so if anyone may need some advice please feel free. I would love to hear from anyone who wants to talk R4,s.

Hi Ian, welcome to the forum.

20 years driving the same Renault 4 has got to be close to a record. You must be pretty attached to the van now. It makes wonderful ecomonic sense to keep the same vehicle running for so long. I tried a modern car for a year and it cost me £2500 in depreciation and repairs. Imagine that every year.