Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

need for advice

liburn

Enthusiast
Hi people, i just bought a renault 4 (1123-3).I am not a mechanic but i will tray to fix something by myself or at least find the spares and then take it to the mechanic.I live in Albania and here there is no experience in cars like this so i know repairing it (except painting) will be difficult.
questions:
Whats the oil capacity of the motor and the gear box and what kind of oil must i use?
Regarding the amortization what kind of other absorbers can i use if i cant find the original one.can i use another car kind of absorbers?
Can i put springers to the amortization system?
In my car documents the year of production is not written.How can i find it?

Thanks in advance to all of u.
Every kind of advice would be helpful to me.

Is the R1123 the 850cc car? If so the engine should hold 2.5 litres of oil plus a little for the oil filter, and the gearbox 1.15 litres (if it is the 4 speed). EP80 oil for the gearbox and 20W/50 for the engine. You might find a handbook or manual useful - you can buy them from eBay.

For suspension shock absorbers, you might be able to fit parts from another car to the front, but not to the rear. The rear absorbers operate in the opposite direction to normal ones, so ones from other cars would make the rear slide around corners. There is no point in adding extra springs.

It's difficult to find the year. Renault weren't able to help me find the year of one of my cars. What is your chassis number? Somebody in the forum might have a similar chassis number on their car.

thanks

Yes infact its a four speed and from what i have read from the internet it has to be 850cc(is there any different way to chek this).The oil filter i have noticed from outside its a very short one(can i use another kind or i must find the original).