Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

New to the world of the R4

Steve C

Hi there I am just in the process of giving my VW Golf Mk5 to my Fiancee and I would like to get back to my roots of having a perfectly simple car. Previously I have owned a Renault 5, only a few years ago, so I am not new to Renaults however I am to R4s. A friend of a friend owns one an I have fallen in love with the idea of having one.

My question is to all where can I find R4s. I live in the Channel Islands so France and the UK are both viable options. Where is best to start. Obviously this site is great, but is there a Renault 4 Mecca?

Please can someone help me.

r4 mecca

serbia-but no ones home-or there doing a micheal-work that one out.
Reg

Thanks

Cheers reg, I am serious though. I am an engineer and have my own workshop, so I am happy to carry out a restoration. However I would appreciate decent advice on where to start. Including lessons learnt.

Buy the best you can find, its much easier starting with a good car than trying to restore one back again.

France would probably be a better bet for a rust free car, most of the UK cars are suffering with dreadful tin worm.

Good luck and keep us upto date with your progress.

Pepper, thanks. I'll aim to get a near perfect car, however this is more and more less likely. I think a trip over to Normandy/Brittany this Easter will be a start. Luckily my french isn't too bad.

Watch this space.

Any other comments welcome.

Avoid anything too near the coast. I looked at a van in Brittany last year, and it was awful, a heap of rust. The S.E. of France is probably the best area. Try French websites, such as www.r4-4l.com and click on 'Annonces'. You get set adverts, not an auction. This way you can at least inspect before buying and haggle on the asking price.

Tim

first r4