Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Please sell me your red R4!!!!

Jenny

I know you all own your cars becuse you love them, but I'm posting this on the off chance tht someone out there may have one too many (is that possible?) and be willing to part with one to a good home.

My mother is French and we had a new red R4 when I was about 10, and boy did us kids hate it!! "Mum we want a NORMAL car like all our friends" was a common moan. Thanks to us the R4 was replaced by some sort of nondescript Peugeot - you can imagine my feelings of regret.

However, 20 years on, I finally get it! I've admired them each time I've been to Corsica and my gradual desire has blossomed into full blown craving - very odd.

A red one would be amazing for nostalgia reasons, but I couldn't say no if someone was offering me another colour. I'm no mechanic but have a small budget so reasonable condition would be good.

If anyone out there knows of one that may be avilable I'd be really grateful if you could post a reply.

Thanks for reading - and a great website by the way.

Just missed one on ebay - GUTTED

Last edited:
A red one went on eBay last week for £670. Was that the one you missed? It's well worth keeping your eyes open there too. A few other places to look are posted here: http://www.renault4.co.uk/buying-R4s.htm, and be sure to check the new buyers guide here: http://www.renault4.co.uk/guides.htm

Although do you really want a red one? While the red ones are generally less rusty, bear in mind that the blue ones have more powerful engines, the green ones are slightly more aerodynamic so have a higher top speed, and the yellow ones have the most comfy seats and brighter headlamps. Avoid white ones like the plague.

Thanks loads Rudi and Clementine. It was sites like this that has given me the confidence to go ahead and try to find one.