Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

5-speed gearbox

petak

Enthusiast
Hello guys!

For some time now I am studying 5-speed gearbox could be installed in R4.

I've read plenty of topics related to this subject, but I have not been able to find precise figures.

I managed to find a transmission ratio for 4-speed gearbox that goes into the R4 and 5-speed gearbox that goes into R5 (old) and I have a theoretical RPMs each gear at certain cruising speed.

The situation is like this

Gearbox from R4 HAO-146
HA0-146.JPG

and with this gearbox engin should theoretically run at RPMs
HA0-146 RPM.JPG

Gearbox from R5 HA1-01-G or HA1-02-D
HA1.JPG

and with this gearbox engin should theoretically run at RPMs
HA1 RPM.JPG

First three gears are identical, 4th is slightly shorter, and 5th is little longer.
Performance when starting the vehicle and driving up hill would not be changed, but will get lower RPMs at higher speeds.
This is just what I am looking for, to lower RPMs while driving magistral roads at speeds 90-100 km/h.

To me, this gearbox would fit R4 engine perfectlly (maximum torque at 2500o/min, maximum power 4000o/min), but still would like to hear other opinion.
And if someone has their own experience that would be great!

I'm afraid that car could lose "breath" at some point while driving the car when changing gears. All these figures give me conclusion that this case might occur when changing from 4th to 5th gear. 4th would have much RPMs and 5th little RPMs.

Is there someone here on this forum that has fit 5-speed gearbox into normal, standard R4 GTL, can you share your experience with us?

Thank you for reading.
H!

Looking at the whole thing in the round, the 4 speed GTL gearbox will do it all.

At 70mph, the 4 speed is at 2,150 rpm, the 5 speed 2,000rpm. Who cares about the small difference of 150 rpm?

2,150 at 70 mph is fantastic.

What a load of aggro for no benefit. The difference is merely a mechanical curiosity.