Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Buying a 4L in France

Mike313

Enthusiast
Hi all,
I'm living temporarily in Montpellier, south of France, where I am a student, albeit a middle-aged one. I am interested in buying a 4l - have been for some time - but until now it has been hard to justify (I can walk to most places I need to get to in 15 minutes - and walking is my only form of exercise!) and I have an eye-wateringly tight budget to live on. However, I've got to move out of my student accomodation in a matter of weeks and will need some means of getting about as not only do I have to move all my bits and pieces (could hire a car for that) but will also be working (I hope!) somewhere in this region through the summer and will need some transport. My intention would be to buy a 4l that will be reliable for daily use, light mileage, for use over the next 18 months without me having to do too much too it. This would be important. Then in about 18months or so, I'd like to get it renovated, resprayed, engine re-built etc. when I have the money to do it.
So here are my questions (and don't laugh, I'm not a mechanic!):
1. I'm going to try source a 4L down here in Herault (department in the south of France), will probably use leboncoin website as a good means of sourcing a car. Are there any other good sources in this region that you enthusiasts' know about?
2. What year, model etc. would you guys recommend I focus on (if possible). I mean I've heard of 4L, 4GTL, Clan, Savane and I'm sure Google would help me with the specs, but I wondered what your personal advice might be.
3. What, in your experience, is a car like that going to cost me - just a sort of ball-park figure.
4. What points should I check out when looking at a 4L? Are there any special weaknesses, or potential money-pits that I need to avoid? Unfortunately I don't have a mechanic-friend to give any potential purchase the 'once-over'.