Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Need to stop students killing R4's

urm....are they thou? What happens to them afterwards?
Just because they are rare here doesn't mean they aren't else where.

Done one of these treks and fancy doing another better one!

Tis true they are not so rare in europe and to be honest if I was a student, and of the right age I would jump at doing such a trek - looks like top fun. Sadly I shall have to wait for my kids to grow up, at which point the rally will be probably be using hybrid cars

On the contrary, I would say.... A lot of wear and replacement parts simply wouldn't be in production if it wasn't for the trophy every year. A good example is the de Carbon shocks, another is driveshafts, the the list goes on- A solid market for spares, bought by people like youing engineering students who are competing and therefore want the best where it's needed, unlike many R4 owners who will never pay up for good quality spares and make do with bits of bent wire or secondhand parts that are only worth throwing away to start with.

I would bet a lot of Trophy cars get sold on to other competitors, and get fixed up again and again, over their lives.

I have spent a few happy summers in France and it is always fun to see hotted up trophy cars coming out of the woodwork on a sunny day and going for a fang down to the pub.

So don't fret too much!

I hadn't thought about it like that and yes the fact that they are developing stronger parts is a good thing

I cannot find a set of set of de carbon rear shocks for love or money!