Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

NEW MEMBER BEWARE R4 modifier!!!!

bobpike

R4 rodder
Hi, I'm an old hotrodder so this is a bit of a direction change for me,still it's started well as I have just bought a nicely uprated GTL which some of you may already be aware of.
It has a 5TS 1300cc engine with a few mods, Gordini Turbo alloys, uprated suspension, restored bodywork and a leather trimmed Gordini interior.
Future plans are lowered suspension, rear anti roll bar (any point?), improved brakes (servo?) and a louvered bonnet, but as I am no mechanic any advice/recommended mechanics not to far from Norwich, would be good.
Cheers, Bob.

• DSC00001.JPG
    DSC00001.JPG
    152.8 KB · Views: 793
  • DSC00002.JPG
    DSC00002.JPG
    155.5 KB · Views: 712
  • DSC00005.JPG
    DSC00005.JPG
    148.5 KB · Views: 755
  • DSC00004.JPG
    DSC00004.JPG
    154.2 KB · Views: 799
Welcome to the wonderful world of Renault 4s. I spotted that one on eBay. Good to see it's found an enthusiastic home.

The rear anti-roll bar could be an idea if the one on the front is too thick and made the car understeer too much. The F6 van has a thin one that will bolt on. Probably best to lower the suspension first and then see what you think about the handling.

I'm considering a similar conversion on my car (1400cc 5 speed etc), so I'd be interested to hear how you get on with yours.

It's low now!

:D Hi, I have had the car lowered as you can see, and it still rides well. The only alteration apart from moving the torsion bars, was to cut the long front shock absorber rubbers in half to retain enough suspension movement. The guy who did it for me is an MOT tester and he was happy with the result.
I forgot to measure it before it was lowered so I don't know how much it's dropped by, perhaps someone would measure a standard car and let me know.
Height to top centre of wheelarches are.... Front 530mm Rear 440mm.