Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

Paint Spraying

ChrisH

Enthusiast
Hi,

This thread has only a loose relationship with our Reno 4, but there is a link and method in my madness!

I am thinking of getting an air compressor (+ receiver) for my workshop. I have only a limited amount of space to fit it and only a limited amount of cash to buy it! However,

I am thinking of buying a 1.5hp oil free air compressor with a 24 litre receiver, or tank. Stated output is 6.2 cfm. That will be enough for my workshop needs, but will it be sufficient to enable me to spray say a bonnet or door on our Reno 4 and achieve - given practice, fair winds and a favourable tide - a reasonable finish? If so, what spray gun should I go for? If not, what minimum size of air compressor/receiver should I aim for and what spray gun should I require? And what paint should I use?

I am a novice when it comes to paint spraying, hence the request for advice, and I would not be spraying the 2 pack stuff what with all the elf n' safety stuff I have read, I think more like spraying cellulose or the like, but would welcome the advice other who have been there, done it, could give.

Chris

Hi Chris, I'm not an expert at paint spraying, just a hobbyist, but I have done a bit, and the compressor I used was of the same size that you are thinking of buying. I had quite a bit of success with it, even complete cars. I used a suction type gun, but a gravity fed type will do also. One problem though, cellulose paint is being phased out, so you may need to talk to your local supplier for advice to see what they can offer you. Regards, Brian.