Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

pistons burnt cooked.

altatlock

Enthusiast
Hi first for me burnt 2n3 pistons,took head off my 67 ol 4 thinking it was valves did compression test 85 to 3 not good,head off slight damage to head,so looked into engine,could not be mice,something had been eating piston crowns.To rich mixture petrol to air,I tuned car,soon after purchase obviously to late,never mind. Can anyone advise on pistons availiability someone mentioned bmc is that a poss,renault mad thought he had heard that that was a cheaper option,ears to the ground buddies,thanks.AL

Is your car an 850 if so Tony Toplis has three new pistons and two new liners.
Contact him on 01476573212.

Hi ,Thanks for your response,I am not a mechanic so I am treading carefully as to whether or not you can just replace an odd piston ,or the lot and if pistons vary in size and weight shape.But hey am enjoying getting my hands greasey,I am about 4 bolts from taking the body off my 69.4 so my play area is getting a bit cramped,did not expect this problem to crop up. Well thanks again for help will keep you posted,by the way I wasin gosburton lincs last week have old friends up there,nice part of the world.Best Alan

Pistons

Personally , I wouldn't change a single piston because of weight and compression differences. A quick look at French eBay shows a set of 747cc pistons and liners for 150€ and a set of pistons,liners and full gasket set for 200€ , neither of which is extortionate in my view

I would prefer to start afresh so that you don't do all that work and then find the engine runs like a bag of spanners !

Having said that - many years ago as a student, I did once replace a single piston on a V6 Lancia Aurelia with a spare piston. I balanced it by adding weights to the inside of the gudgeon pin !! It ran for years and was remarkably smooth ..... so never say never !