Clementine's Garage
Clementine the Cat

Image of flower
Yellow R4

Réparateur d'automobiles

4GTL carb

ggcton

Enthusiast
Hi you will have seen on this forum that I have had a lot of problems with power loss on my 1984 GTL.
I had fitted a R5 manifold and a Zenith 32IF carb and although a little better I still had serious power loss.
This morning I remembered I had a brand new 32 SEIA carb I bought from an ex renault agent.I fitted the carb and for the first time my car went really well smooth and poweful.After about 5 miles I started to loose power again although not so bad.
Has anyone else used this carb on the 1108 GTL and if so do you know how to adjust it and what Jet sizes to use.
Thanks Gary

Hi gccton,
my '78 GTL uses this carb, and I'm not too pleased with it - the car seems very sluggish. I'm thinking of converting to the 28IF setup from later GTLs or hotting up á la Hennessey.
The carb is a bit of an oddball as (I'm not that technically minded, so YMMV) idle revs can't be affected directly but only through a combination of adjusting air and fuel mixture. Don't mess with the throttle either, because that's factory set and the gauge is hard to come by.
You can get a repair set (although mine had the wrong size jets) from www.reno4er.de
I've retyped the jet sizes from a French leaflet, so I don't know the correct names for the jets and measurements concerning this carb, but here goes, and you can compare with the drawing:

Buse (K): 22
Automaticité (a): 115
Gicleur de ralenti (g): 145
Pointeau: 1,5
Ouverture positive du papillon des gaz (mm): 0,90
Niveau d'essence (mm) 11,7
No. de calibre: 71644024
Emulseur: X6
Injecteur de pompe de reprise (i): 35
Angle de papillion (en mm) 3,48
Course clapet de degazage (mm): 3 à 4
Regime de ralenti en
tr/min. 700+-25
% CO 2,5 +- 0,5

All the best
Robert

• Solex 32 SEIA.jpg
    Solex 32 SEIA.jpg
    38.7 KB · Views: 340
Many thanks I will try to get a friend to translate from the french.Gary